A Dream about an Underground City

The apostle Peter spoke before thousands on the Day of Pentecost. He taught the crowd that what they had witnessed fulfilled Joel’s prophecy about the outpouring of the Spirit upon all human beings during the last days (Acts 2:14-18; cf Joel 2:28-29, NASB). Now 2000 years later, we are still in the last days experiencing the age of the Spirit. In fact, here is a portion of Joel’s amazing prophecy: “It will come about after this that I will pour out my Spirit on all mankind; and your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions” (Joel 2:28, NASB).

Before I proceed a little further, I want to say up front that I am not an old man. I am in my late thirties, so middle-aged is probably the best descriptor. When the text states that “your old men will dream dreams,” I must confess that this sort of thing happens with some regularity. To be blunt, I know the difference between a dream from my subconscious mind and one from the Holy Spirit. I am never able to remember the former, but I can recall the latter down to the smallest detail. For example, sometime during this past Labor Day Weekend, I experienced an unusual dream.

I hiked through a wooded trail that reminded me of the ones in Temescal Canyon. This particular trail ended at a mountainside, which I began to climb. When I reached the top, I struggled to pull myself up. An unidentified man came to my aid and lifted me up with ease. His great strength impressed me. I followed him into a large, bustling city with automobiles, buses, sirens blaring, people walking around and on and on. The more I looked around us, I noticed that the city was populated with adults. The children were noticeably absent. I asked my guide about this detail. We waited for a few minutes. Then like clockwork, all the kids (ages K-12) streamed out of the buildings and down to the subways with joy and excitement.

At this point, something did not feel right. I wondered to myself why these kids headed below the city for fun and excitement instead of remaining above ground in order to enjoy the sun, mix it up in the parks, and so forth. I followed my guide down into the subway tunnel. My first impression was one of amazement. It was an elaborate underground mall of arcades, candy stores, game stores, and the like. When my guide and I proceeded further into the storefront, the scene shifted into one of horror. Zombie-like people began attacking and devouring the children. There was nowhere for these kids to escape. The stairways back to the surface had been locked shut as the city life continued as normal.

Meanwhile, I stood next to my guide watching in horror as every child of this city wound up devoured by these evil beings. I realized that this whole scenario unfolded by design. These kids were deceived by the adults into thinking that this underground city was safe, fun, and exciting. Instead, they ended up being chased and devoured by demonic beings. It was a massacre of the innocents. I turned to my guide and I asked him what all of it meant. He said to me, “You live in a nation that devours its children. Their blood cries out to their heavenly Father, who hears them and will avenge them on judgment day. The time is short. Warn them.” After this, I woke up. I have been unable to shake off this dream and its implications ever since.

I invite my readers and followers to pray for the leaders of our nation whether federal, state, or local. May we be salt and light in our families, our jobs, with our friends, and strangers. We are ministers of reconciliation, ambassadors of a new covenant. Holy Spirit, empower and sustain us for this work till either Jesus returns or calls us home. In his name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

