Dusting Off the Cobwebs

Ok then, I have attended seminary for a little over one week. This accounts for my silence of late on the blog. I apologize to my readers and followers. It has been twelve years since I sat in a graduate classroom. At this point, I’m dusting off the cobwebs and refurbishing the rusty areas with gleaming steel. The process is not easy and the days have been long. If someone were to ask me, so how do you really feel, Matthew? My answer is rather simple and to the point. The coursework has been an overwhelming flood. It’s been hard to tell if I’ve been standing on the solid rock.

I started out with a total of twelve rock’em, sock’em units through Talbot. Now, here, at the end of this week, I am proud to say that I am down to nine units. The surgery was absolutely necessary in order to preserve my sanity and health for this first semester. One of the things that I learned through this process had to do with pride and arrogance. The Lord reminded me through prayer and interactions with fellow peers and professors that knowing my limitations is a sign of wisdom and humility. If I had continued to “muscle through my classes,” then I would have succeeded in becoming the living definition of pride and foolishness.

How many times have I heard it said that the Lord is always ready to receive those who need him? I lack the proper number of fingers and toes in order to give a full account. One thing is certain, I’m blessed to have a wife at my side who refuses to allow me to slink and slack with respect to seeking the Lord’s counsel. She does not abide with such disobedience. To that I say, Amen. I will end this short post with the words from the great hymn, “The Solid Rock”:

My hope is built on nothing less
than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
but wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

Refrain:
On Christ, the solid rock, I stand;
all other ground is sinking sand,
all other ground is sinking sand.

2 When darkness veils his lovely face,
I rest on his unchanging grace;
in every high and stormy gale,
my anchor holds within the veil. [Refrain]

3 His oath, his covenant, his blood
support me in the whelming flood;
when all around my soul gives way,
he then is all my hope and stay. [Refrain]

4 When he shall come with trumpet sound,
O may I then in him be found,
dressed in his righteousness alone,
faultless to stand before the throne. [Refrain]

Leave a Reply

