The Best Use of the Time

It has been over two weeks since I last posted something that wasn’t quote or a video.  The tank is nowhere close to being empty, but I have been distracted.  Some of the blogs that I follow have gobbled up my time as I endeavor to post thoughtful comments.  Any amount of writing takes discipline and energy; however, I am starting to realize just how much energy is necessary.  After reading a blog entry, and then collecting my thoughts for a comment, I find it no different than what I do here on Kingdom Scribe.  My seemingly “innocent” comments divert attention and energy away from the priority: this blog.  I’m sure that there is a necessary tension here between maintaining Kingdom Scribe and staying current on key blogs for current events and cultural analysis.

In fact, some of those blogs spur me on to write the pieces that I do.  They function like a well from which I draw inspiration, ideas, trends, and so on and so forth.  I think it goes without saying that responsible, online discourse will continue to be difficult to achieve, let alone sustain.  Part of me desires to do my part, which sounds like “doing my duty” rather than complaining and doing nothing.  The downside to this is a prideful spirit, or a condescending attitude that looks down upon others in my sphere of influence.  At the end of the day, the blogosphere is what it is, which means that perspective is crucial.  Basically, I have come to the conclusion that the blogosphere is both an asset and a liability.  The latter refers to its capacity for spawning internet trolls, whose presence never cease to amaze for their sheer ingenuity in creating disharmony.

We live in a day and an age where it is easier to express opinions without being seen (blogs, discussion boards, and the like) rather than face-to-face.  One has to search far and wide on the world wide web in order to find anything that would be characterized as civil or respectful discussion.  The internet seems to attract those who are the lowest of the low while simultaneously drawing out the worst in those who would be deemed as decent or good.  If I may use an analogy, online comments’ sections or discussion boards remind me of rubberneckers slowing down to view a freeway collision.  Now, the sad reality is that what has been taking place online with respect to discourse has infiltrated the public arena.

When it comes to politics and the academy (universities), those two fields represent the epitome of my rubbernecker analogy.  Both are fascinating to observe as a bystander, but sometimes horrifying to experience on a firsthand basis.  It does not take much to set ablaze the pundits, the critics, the now-it-alls, the blogosphere, you name it, for saying or doing something that is either politically incorrect or outside the status quo within the political and academic spheres.  There is something riveting about the online, feeding frenzy.  If this was not the case, then my current entry makes no sense at all.  What I have come to realize is that maintaining my blog needs to be a priority because other things swoop in and take its place.

C. S. Lewis said the following famous words, which are quoted regularly and deservedly so: “When first things are put first, second things are not suppressed but increased.”  There are only so many hours in a day, and my energy has its limits.  It is much wiser to save my best for the best.  I believe that this is what the late C. S. Lewis was driving at in the quote.  It brings to mind this verse: “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil” (Ephesians 5:15-16, ESV).  The text in boldface type pierces me like a dagger.  Those words convict me of wasting time over the last week by observing the online, feeding frenzies (comment sections, discussion boards, etc.).  There are better things to do, nobler things to do, than gawk at humanity’s worst moments.  In fact, the Spirit of God commands me to behave differently through that passage in Ephesians.  This is another rubber meets the road moment in time.        

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

