From 35,000 Feet Up

There is a first time for everything.  I like that saying.  It rings true at the moment as I’m writing this post from an airplane in excess of 30,000 feet.  This is one of the perks of being married to a working professional.  I realize that sounds highly reductionistic, but it’s true.  My wife is a business woman at the top of her game, and I reap the benefits as her husband.  It costs money to use the internet on flights, but my wife had a promotional code in order to waive the cost.  I could say that I’m fortunate, but what about blessed?

Once again, I know that previous statement crosses the line into ridiculousness.  Let me just say that I’ve learned quite a bit about traveling and airports from my wife.  Gone are the days of using paper boarding passes.  I have the airline apps to Delta, United, and American, and checkin online while using my iPhone to scan the electronic boarding pass.  In Disney’s Aladdin, Princess Jasmine and Aladdin sing the classic tune, “A Whole New World,” as they enjoy the sights and sounds high above on a magic carpet.  It’s a romantic song underscoring a romantic sequence.

Here is the connection between the song and my life.  Marriage to my wife has thrust me into a whole new world.  I’m soaring on great heights enjoying fabulous sights and sounds from a vantage point totally foreign to me fifteen to twenty months ago.  When I saw her at the birthday party in March of 2013, I only pictured a potential date and nothing more.  I had been on so many first dates that I lost count.  My current wife could have been another statistic.  Instead, she is my partner for life, who knows a thing or two about life and airline travel.  I am blessed, but it humbles me, too.

I know that I made a conscious choice to strike up a conversation with my wife at the birthday party.  I engaged my will to keep dating her and then take things to the next level.  Those are very real decisions that I made after praying through them.  Somehow I cannot quite escape an inner knowing that God guided me to my wife.  He was behind my will to choose my wife.  He opened my heart and eyes to see  and receive her.  God brought her to me the same way he brought Eve to Adam in the Garden (Genesis 2:22b, ESV).  It is amazing that such goodness and blessing has been possible in a fallen world.

Again, it causes me to stop and think.  In the midst of a sin cursed world, life and beauty and love spring into being.  Thorns and thistles continue to grow, but only for a time (Gen. 3:18; cf Roman 8:21, ESV).  My marriage is evidence that the kingdom of God has broken into this world.  The Spirit of God has formed my marriage, and it is my hope and prayer that I allow him to sustain it.  There are things I am to do as a husband; however, I am to do them by the power of the Spirit.  This means surrendering to God and his word.  He has the answers, the wisdom, the know-how.

Before I sign off, there is one more thing that I want to add.  Marriage has given me new insight.  It has softened some rough edges, but more remain.  Humility has been a constant theme.  I have needed to rely on God, his Spirit, and his word more than ever.  It is crucial for me to recognize where God is, who he is, and my place in relation to him.  I will end with these words from the prophet Isaiah: “For thus says the One who is high and lifted up, who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: ‘I dwell in a high and holy place, and also with him who is of a contrite spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly, and to revive the heart of the contrite'” (Isaiah 57:15, ESV).  

Leave a Reply

