Give Thanks to the Lord

There are so many things to give thanks to God for this year.  It is my first Thanksgiving holiday as a married man.  Last year at this time, my wife and I had been engaged for about one month.  We spent the holiday in upstate New York visiting my brother Jayson, his wife, and their adorable eighteen month old son.  This year, I’m with the in-laws in Santa Maria, California, which is the northernmost city in Santa Barbara County.  It is a balmy seventy-nine degrees out whereas my brother’s place experienced highs in the mid-twenties.  Let me just say at this point that cold weather in the Adirondack region of New York State is vastly different from the city.  I have been to the Big Apple and Boston in the winter, but their cold does not knife through jackets and sweaters.  So, I am very thankful for a warmer Thanksgiving; although, I do wish that it was fifteen degrees cooler.

Now, I am thankful for the health status of my mom.  She’s been battling cancer for almost a decade.  Over the last 2-3 years, the lymphoma became particularly obstinate toward chemo and radiation treatment.  Instead of reducing the cancer, those treatments had been reducing her white blood cell levels to very low levels.  Thankfully, the Lord has healed her so far in a miraculous way, which screams, “Open your eyes to my work.”  The advanced T-cell treatment has done its work, but God, by his Holy Spirit, has used this medical means to display his power.  It is a wonderful work, an amazing work, a glorious work.  In fact, acknowledging God’s grace and healing through my mom falls directly in line with the following scripture:

“Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples” (Psalm 105:1, ESV)!

When I tell others about God’s goodness in my life, my family, my friends, and strangers, I am living out the above verse.  My current post serves as written testimony about God and his deeds.  Psalm 105:1 is no longer mere words on a page.  The spiritual truth contained within it becomes flesh through my life, which constitutes my thoughts, words, and actions.

Today is a day to focus on God and his wonderful work in our lives.  If I’m not mistaken, the sun has risen on this day.  It gives light and life-giving energy to everything on the earth.  The sun points to the One who is the creator and sustainer of all living things.  He has promised to maintain this earth and its ecosystems and climates.  Someone might say, “Are you sure about that, Matthew?”  Yes I am.  Here is God’s promise to Noah, which applies to all creation: “While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night, shall not cease” (Genesis 8:22, ESV).  Let us remember this promise the next time we wonder about pollution, global warming, natural disasters, wars, and the like.

Leave a Reply

