A Newly Married Man

I am sixteen days into marriage.  It might be way too early to write something meaningful.  For whatever the reason, something goads me to set my fingers typing away on my wireless keyboard attached to my iPad mini.  Gone are the days of wedding preparations, anxious nights about the wedding day itself, and the heightened sense of urgency to check things off of the proverbial list.

In many ways, things began to settle down over the honeymoon.  Now, I must confess that the first half of my honeymoon still had some leftover energy from the wedding and its associated emotions.  On some level, this surprised my wife and me as we had hoped to catch up on sleep.  Things did not work out that way.  Part of that had to with the weather on Tikehau in French Polynesia.

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Tahiti, but specifically, on the islands of Tikehau and Moorea.  We had five nights in the former and three in the latter.  Tikehau is an island atoll in the shape of a ring with a lagoon in the center.  It lacks mountains to absorb the wind and rain.  For thirty-six hours, Tikehau experienced heavy rain and wind.  We stayed in a gorgeous, overwater bungelow, but that meant we heard the wind and the waves.

Needless to say, sound sleep alluded us for a bit.  We took afternoon naps and did absolutely nothing in the way of adventure.  That being said, the sea remained a little rough shortly after the weather passed, so taking a boat tour wouldn’t work.  My wife and I had plenty of time together reading, talking, napping, and enjoying the amazing South Pacific island.  Tikehau really is a quiet  place for solitude and relaxation.

There were a few moments where my wife asked me to pray for her.  She had been hoping to catch up on sleep while in Tikehau.  Instead, her sleep pattern was way off, which caused more anxiousness in her.  During our five nights on Tikehau, the Lord answered each prayer that I lifted up to him for my wife and us.  Part of me should not be shocked or surprised by this display of grace and goodness from God.  He loves his children like a father.  Each time God answered a prayer, it caused me to stop and reflect on his nature.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, I am newly married.  I have a lifetime to develop into more of the man and husband that God has called me to be with my wife.  The following scripture verse has been swirling around my mind and heart over the last week:        

“Likewise, husbands, live with your wives in an understanding way, showing honor to the woman as the weaker vessel, since they are heirs with you of the grace of life, so that your prayers may not be hindered” (1 Peter 3:7, ESV).

It is my hope and prayer to continue living out this passage.  I want the Lord to answer my prayers for my wife and family.  She is my partner in building a home and our future family.  We both know and love the our Father in heaven.  She has been a recipient of God’s extravagant grace in Christ, which is my testimony, too.  Through the verse in 1 Peter 3:7, I hear the voice of the Good Shepherd calling me to embrace the truth contained in it.  I must follow my shepherd wherever he leads me.

Leave a Reply

