The Wedding Day

I sit typing away on my soon to be bride’s laptop.  Breakfast consisted of steel cut oats and a cup of Golden Assam Tea.  It is just me in our two bedroom apartment at the moment, but that will no longer be the case.  My fiance is most likely hip deep in makeup and hair styling along with her bridesmaids. God only knows the joy and levity amongst those ladies.  The wedding ceremony occurs at 1:45pm today, but until then, there is the anticipation of the ceremony.  I call it the buildup or the already-not yet, which might come off self-indulgent. C’est la vie.

There are so many things coursing through my mind.  I remember the countless moments of agony over the wedding day ever becoming a reality.  Let me just say that at times I began wondering if I would even find someone of worth to date, let alone marry. Well, the day has arrived.  The wait is merely a few hours.  My fiance and I have so many relatives and friends joining us for the ceremony and reception.  The joy on both sides of the family has overflowed the cup. Many have yearned and prayed for this day.  No matter who I talk to among my future in-laws or my own family, the exuberance over this day overrides and undergirds everything else along the way.

Of course, these ruminations of my heart and soul bring to my mind the following scripture texts. Two are from the book of Psalms, and the other is from the book of Revelation. First are the Old Testament passages and then the New:

“In them [or the heavens] he has set a tent for the sun, which comes out like a bridegroom leaving his chamber, and, like a strong man, runs its course with joy.  Its rising is from the end of the heavens, and its circuit to the end of them, and there is nothing hidden from its heat.” (Psalm 19:4b-6, ESV)

“All glorious is the princess in her chamber, with robes interwoven with gold.  In many-colored robes she is led to the king, with her virgin companions following behind her.  With joy and gladness they are led along as they enter the palace of the king.” (Psalm 45:13-15, ESV)

“‘Let us rejoice and exult and give him the glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and his Bride has made herself ready; it was granted her to clothe herself with fine linen, bright and pure’ —for the fine linen is the righteous deeds of the saints.” (Revelation 19:7-8, ESV)

The way I see it, the Lord has spoken to me through the Psalm 19 text. I am my fiance’s bridegroom, who will come out of his chamber during the ceremony in order to receive his bride.  My sense is that Psalm 45 speaks directly to my fiance and her bridesmaids.  They are the procession coming to meet the bridegroom.  Now, the Revelation text points to the joy of our families and friends gathering together to celebrate our union.  There will be music, worship, food, fellowship, dancing, and so much more.

All of these scripture passages have the above immediate applications; however, behind each one is the Triune God, the Creator of the heavens and the earth and all that is in them.  God the Father has appointed a day in history for the ultimate wedding celebration, the marriage supper of the Lamb (Rev. 19:7-9, ESV).  Jesus is the ultimate bridegroom, who leaves his chamber in order to give his bride life, who is the Church (Psalm 19:5-6, ESV).  She makes herself ready by the person and work of the Holy Spirit, who indwells and sanctifies her (Psalm 45:13-14 & Rev. 19:8, ESV).

Today’s wedding is a glimpse into the ultimate celebration, which occurs at the eschaton.  Until that day, the redeemed of Christ and creation wait in earnest, in expectation, for the revealing of the Son coming in the clouds of heaven.  He will raise his redeemed from the dead in glorified bodies and setup his kingdom on the earth.  What a day of rejoicing that will be…and my wedding to my fiance points to that grand event.

Leave a Reply

