Q & A with D.A. Carson and John Piper

D.A. Carson and John Piper represent the old guard so to speak. In this interview session, both men offer insight into the forthcoming struggles and victories for the next generation of pastor-theologians. The phrase that comes to mind is wisdom of the aged. It is not always true that the older generation offers real wisdom. Part of me would love for that to be the case; however, this present world is a fallen one. The younger generations do have the ability to extend wisdom to the older (Job 32:6-10, ESV).

In the Job passage, Elihu gently and firmly calls out his elders for being unwilling to correct Job’s self-exaltation. He displays humility in the process, which suggests that Elihu saw this in Job and his three friends. The older generation taught the younger. Does that dynamic continue today? This is what led me to post this video. Carson and Piper are two men of the old guard, who do have wisdom to spare (Proverbs 16:31, ESV). Best of all, they display such heartfelt passion in dispensing with it that they remind me of geysers.

When I reflect on the impact that my mentor has exerted upon my life, I cherish the harvest with immense gratitude. In my life, I want to impact those younger and immature in their walk with Christ in the same way that my mentor has with me. According to the apostle Paul, those I disciple should be Spirit-wrought letters confirming his work until he calls me home (1 Cor. 3:2-3, ESV) If I am not spurring on others in the Kingdom, then I must quit my day job and do something completely different.

Leave a Reply

