Sustained to the End

For whatever the reason, I have been contemplating my mortality, the process of growing old. When I think back on my parents, I remember how vibrant and large they seemed to my small perspective as a child. Over the last several years, I have watched both parents face physical difficulties. Their bodies exhibit an ebb and flow: highs and lows, good days and not-so-good days. I came across the following verse in the Old Testament, “…even to your old age I am he, and to gray hairs I will carry you. I have made, and I will bear; I will carry and will save…” (Isaiah 46:4, ESV). This is a very comforting and stabilizing promise of God in scripture.

By way of background, the actual context of Isaiah 46:4 is God’s prophetic word to his covenant people. It is a word of encouragement in the midst of persecution, attack, death, and famine. Isaiah prophecies the destruction of both the Northern and Southern Kingdoms of Israel. Through the prophet, God explains the great suffering and destruction to come; however, in Isaiah 46:4 and in other portions of this prophecy, God declares his promise to guide and preserve his people to the end. This is my hope for my parents and me. I desire to lean hard on Isaiah 46:4 even in the most difficult times. It is my hope to keep trusting in the God who declares that he will carry me in my old age. May this word bring peace and comfort to all.

Leave a Reply

