A Word in Season

“To make an apt answer is a joy to a man, and a word in season, how good it is” (Proverbs 15:23, ESV)!

“A man has joy in an apt answer, and how delightful is a timely word” (Prov. 15:23, NASB)!

Sometimes I wonder the genuineness of posting a blog such as this, which contains two renditions of the same verse.  There are people and places in this world without any reputable, translation of God’s word.  Here I am posting two versions of the same verse. My source: http://www.biblegateway.com.  Am I taking for granted God’s word?  I hope this is not the case.  I suppose that I would like to think that my blog is evidence of my reckoning with God’s word and his Holy Spirit.  Sometimes I am not the best judge of my ability or capability.

One thing that I takeaway from the first half of Proverbs 15:23 is the joy someone experiences due to receiving an apt word, an encouraging word.  It is an Old Testament truth that echoes the New Testament exhortation of speaking the truth in love, or speaking with grace to edify others within the church.  Many examples abound such as cajoling one into hosting a small group, speaking encouragement to a person struggling with their faith, and so on.  The key with each previous example is that the word comes in season, at the right time.  Said individual might have been on the brink of not serving or staying faithful, but this word in season from a brother or sister builds the other’s faith to keep going or to step out.

What is wonderful about receiving or giving a word in season is that the Spirit of Christ fuels it all.  He prompts the speaker to speak at the right time, not a moment too soon or later.  The dynamic is at times ordinary or inconvenient or stretching.  It is not easy to walk up to someone in church to encourage him or her.  These are the faith building and faith testing moments.  I can quote Proverbs 15:23, or even write a blog post on it; however, will I apply it to my life?  I would like to be able to deliver apt answers to those in my life.  Once again, this means to walk in the Spirit, to remain in step with him: align my life to his.  Whatever is not of Christ must be jettisoned sooner rather than later.  When I am right with the Lord, I am much more willing to deliver a word in season.

Leave a Reply

