The Greater Reality

I sit in a hotel room in Escondido, California as I write this new entry. Yesterday I enjoyed an event called Seminary for a Day at Westminster Seminary California (WSC). It was a warm and welcoming experience with a wing of the church largely foreign to me: the Reformed and Presbyterian wing. The professors, staff, and students consistently conveyed a humble and close-knit community.

When I woke up today, I started dwelling on my experience at WSC. It opened my eyes, ears, and heart to another aspect of our Lord’s church within his kingdom. Because I attended WSC’s Seminary for a Day event, this automatically registered me for their faculty conference on sanctification. Last night, I enjoyed the two lectures by Dr. David VanDrunen and Dr. Steven Baugh. The latter had me in stitches with his humor. The conference continues later this morning and afternoon, too.

Back to experiencing the Kingdom of God, I really felt like I was amongst brothers and sisters in Christ. My background has been largely non-Reformed for all of my Christian life. Over the last 20-24 months, I have been digging into scripture and teaching centering on the doctrines of grace from the Reformed perspective. This wing of the church has provided our Lord’s church with a great gift, a priceless gift.

The point is that I am thankful to the Lord for bringing me into his Kingdom. It is unseen in the material world, but not so to those with the eyes of faith. Make no mistake, I am in the Kingdom and experiencing and seeing it because of the Father’s work in me. Listen to what the apostle Paul says, “He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son…” (Colossians 1:13, ESV).

Let the established fact and truth of the Colossians verse resonate deep within your soul. Right now, I see this as an anchor, which keeps me from drifting away. The current and waves may exert their force, but the anchor keeps me from being taken out to sea. God the Father has delivered me from Satan’s dominion and placed me under his forever and ever. Amen

Leave a Reply

