The Adirondack Region

Yesterday I took a break from posting anything as I wanted to focus on the Thanksgiving gathering. This year I’m spending it with my brother Jayson and his wife, Jennifer, and their adorable son, David. They live in the bitterly cold Adirondack region. My mom and stepdad are here as is my youngest brother Adam and his wife, Jess.

There’s four inches of snow on the ground. There’s ice, too. The latter made for interesting driving. Now, here’s the thing about cold weather. My two brothers and I grew up in South Florida, so our experience with cold weather occurred at different times. Adam moved away to Boston for college, so this Adirondack weather is familiar. Jayson is another story.

Back in 2009, he moved to the Adirondack region for his current wife. The cold weather was a huge adjustment for him. Shoveling snow, scraping off ice from the windshield, and wearing layers became the norm. If you see Jayson right now, it’s as if he’s always lived up here. Besides his wife, I see what attracted him to this area: it’s a small town feel versus big city, the scenery is gorgeous, and the people are built tough.

Frankly, the cold weather up here in the Adirondacks doesn’t bother me that much. All I need are the layers, and it’s alright. In many ways, it’s a welcome change of pace from experiencing the same weather year round in Los Angeles. The most difficult aspect for me with the Adirondack region is the rural nature of it. I’m a city guy through and through, so I need more action. I don’t enjoy the 30-40 minute drives into the nearest city; however, I do enjoy the quiet, the stillness. It’s a breath of fresh air from noisy LA.

I’m going to end this with the following verse: “And they went away in the boat to a desolate place by themselves” (Mark 6:32). This verse relates to the apostles needing a time of rest in the midst of their busy lives at the urging of Christ. There are times when life is so busy, so hectic, that desolate places like the Adirondack region offer refreshing solitude. How many Americans struggle to find rest during the holidays, let alone their actual lives? Where are the desolate places for you to find rest?

Leave a Reply

