The Rock of Ages

Today is the first day of November. This means that next year is right around the corner. I’m in a reflective mood as a result. 2013 has seen many changes for me. Earlier this year, I moved away from one church community and into a new one. During that in between time, I met my fiance at a birthday party for a mutual friend of ours. This precipitated the end of my singleness. Shortly after starting my new relationship, my grandfather passed away in Honduras. Over the last two years, his health had been declining steadily. His death didn’t shock or surprise anyone, but all of us grieved his passing.

In the midst of these changes, the Lord has proven himself faithful and constant. I’m reminded of the following words in Hebrews 13:7-8 in the ESV: “Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” When I consider my grandfather and his life, he spoke the word of God to me. I’ve purposed in my heart to imitate his life, which was a constant love offering to his wife of sixty years, his family and friends.

There are moments throughout my days and weeks and months and years where I’m thankful for my grandfather and his impact upon my life. The Lord used him to shore up my foundation as a young adult. Now as I enter into marriage in the near future, my grandfather’s counsel and his life keep coming up. It’s a rich example for me to draw upon as I continue my walk with Christ. When the writer of Hebrews states, “remember your leaders…consider the outcome of their way of life,” I find these words faith-building (Hebrews 13:7, ESV).

When I consider my grandfather, there is still one who rises higher and larger. It is my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. No matter how many changes I have experienced, and will continue to experience, the Good Shepherd stays the same. He “…is the same yesterday, today, and forever” (Hebrews 13:8, ESV). He walks with me through all of life’s changes. None of them shock or surprise him, which settles and anchors my soul and spirit. The words of the Psalmist come to mind: “Be to me a rock of refuge, to which I may continually come; you have given the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress” (Psalm 71:3, ESV).

Oh, the depth and richness of God’s rockness, which is not a word in the English language. I don’t really care either as rockness conveys my meaning. Let’s heed the following words of our Savior: “Everyone then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house, but it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock” (Matthew 7:24-25; cf Luke 6:47-48; ESV). Are you built upon the rock of ages?

2 thoughts on “The Rock of Ages

  1. Really beautiful tribute to your grandpa – and a wonderful, timely reminder of the steadfastness of our Lord. Your confident humility blesses me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

